Our Finalists

This award recognizes outstanding leadership in raising awareness about and promoting the field of dermatology as well as creating relationships and professional involvement within the dermatology industry and community.

Outstanding Leadership in Promoting the Field of Dermatology

Brett Coldiron, MD

Dr. Coldiron is a distinguished Mohs surgeons who has been president of both the American College of Mohs Surgery and the American Academy of Dermatology. Internationally known and frequently cited in literature and media, he has published over 63 peer-reviewed articles and 4 book chapters. While at medical school at the University of Kentucky he won the Lange book award for outstanding achievement, and was chairman of the president's council and class president. He is currently in private practice but maintains a clinical associate professorship at the University of Cincinnati; and his present research interests are patient safety and the epidemiology of skin cancer.

David Pariser, MD

Dr. Pariser has participated as a principal investigator in over 375 clinical trials and been a guest speaker at over 600 CME events around the world. He is a former president of the American Academy of Dermatology, and still active in their affairs, as well as of the American Dermatological Association and the International Hyperhidrosis Society. He holds 3 fellowships and serves on various boards, including the International League of Dermatologic Societies. He is the author of 3 textbooks, multiple textbook chapters, 2 dozen invited papers, nearly 60 scientific poster presentations, and over 130 original works, with additional co-authorship of 22 AAD publications on Guidelines of Care; and he has also been an editor for several other journals. He has received numerous awards and honors, including 7 presidential citations from the AAD and Clinical Educator of the Year award from both the Fall and Winter Clinical Dermatology Conferences.

Joel L. Cohen, MD

Dr. Cohen has been named a Top Dermatologist by US News and World Report, been voted by his peers as a Colorado Top Doc 9 times in Denver's 5280 Magazine, been quoted in many national newspapers and magazines (including The New York Times and Marie Claire), made over 75 appearances on television, and been featured on the Emmy Award-winning show, "The Doctors." An internationally recognized expert on skin cancer and aesthetics, he participates in many clinical trials, and has received several awards. He has spoken at numerous meetings, published more than 145 articles and book chapters, and is the co-editor of the McGraw-Hill textbook Aesthetic Rejuvenation A Regional Approach and the Wiley Blackwell textbook Reconstructive Conundrums in Dermatologic Surgery. He serves on the editorial staff for 12 medical journals, authors a regular "Surgical Pearls" column in The Dermatologist, and is the editor of case reports for Journal of Drugs in Dermatology.

Dirk Elston, MD, FAAD, FCAP

Dr. Elston is one of 3 authors of the classic Andrews' Diseases of the Skin, editor in chief of the Requisites in Dermatology series of textbooks, deputy editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, and associate editor in chief of emedicine dermatology; and he has also written over 370 articles and 75 textbook chapters. President of the American Society of Dermatopathology, he has received many teaching awards, including the Walter Nickel Award for Excellence in Dermatopathology Education, the St Luke's-Roosevelt Volunteer Teacher of the Year Award, the Brooke Army Medical Center Departments of Medicine and Pathology Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Darl Vanderplueg Excellence in Teaching Award. He is currently professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Online Voting

NOV 17 - DEC 4, 2015

Vote for the Leaders of Distinction in Dermatology

Winners Announced

WEEK OF DEC 14, 2015

Award Ceremony

JAN 15 - 18, 2016

Orlando Derm Aesthetic & Clinical Conference
Omni Orlando Resort, Championsgate, FL.