Our Finalists

This award recognizes outstanding leadership that encourages and promotes scholarly research and education in the field of dermatology.

Outstanding Leadership in Dermatology Education and Research

Ron G. Wheeland, MD

Dr. Wheeland has been named one of the country's "Best Doctors" annually since 1992; and has received presidential citations from the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, as well as numerous awards. His research has led to an improved understanding of how lasers interact with the skin and how best to use those devices; and he has also performed numerous clinical research projects that have improved the care of patients with chronic wounds, various vascular conditions, skin cancer, and excess hair. These activities have led to over 230 publications, including 8 textbooks; and he has also served as an editor on many publications, chaired 3 university dermatology departments, and directed the surgical training of residents at the University of Missouri. He was also president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery, the ASLMS, and the Pacific Dermatology Association; and he has mentored countless dermatology students.

Steven R. Feldman, MD, PhD

Dr. Feldman has given over 800 lectures, published over 750 articles, and authored several books, including Compartments: How the Brightest, Best Trained, and Most Caring People Can Make Judgments that are Completely and Utterly Wrong. He chaired the Medical Board of the National Psoriasis Foundation subcommittee on education, as well as the American Academy of Dermatology's Psoriasis Education Initiative Workgroup. From the AAD he received a Presidential Citation for his psoriasis education efforts, the Clarence S. Livingood lectureship, and the Astellas Award. His work on tanning has influenced legislation and was covered extensively by major news media, including Good Morning America. He has been an editor on the board of many journals, he founded the Medical Quality Enhancement Corporation and its website, and he was the host of the Getting Better Health Care radio program.

Daniel M. Siegel, MD

For several years, Dr. Siegel has been listed as one of New York Metro Area's "Top Doctors." He has published over 100 articles and chapters, given over 500 lectures, and is a reviewer and editor for major journals - his expertise extending to cutting edge computer technology and botany areas outside of "routine" dermatology. Among his numerous awards are the American Skin Association Public Policy & Medical Education Award, the Clinical Educator Award, the President's Volunteer Service Award, the American College of Mohs Surgery Distinguished Service Award, and (5 times) the Academy of Dermatology Presidential Citation. One of the 30 esteemed active members of the New York Dermatological Society, and former president of the American Academy of Dermatology, he has also served a large number of other professional organizations, including DebRA International.

Jeffrey Dover, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Dover graduated as the silver medalist, Magna cum Laude, from the University of Ottawa. Author of over 400 scientific publications, he has also co-authored and edited over 45 textbooks and is the founding editor of Journal Watch for Dermatology. He has received many honors, including repeated nominations for "teacher of the year" at Harvard Medical School. He received the prestigious Leon Goldman Award and the Ellet Drake Award of the American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery; and was honored for his work in laser surgery by the Sturge Weber Foundation. He is currently associate clinical professor of dermatology at Yale University School of Medicine, associate professor of dermatology at Brown Medical School, and a director of SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.

Online Voting

NOV 17 - DEC 4, 2015

Vote for the Leaders of Distinction in Dermatology

Winners Announced

WEEK OF DEC 14, 2015

Award Ceremony

JAN 15 - 18, 2016

Orlando Derm Aesthetic & Clinical Conference
Omni Orlando Resort, Championsgate, FL.