Meet our past Award Winners

Dermatologists and organizations that have been leaders in the field of dermatology through their scientific advances, achievements in education and research and promoting dermatology

Howard Maibach, MD

Outstanding Leadership in Dermatology Education and Research

In 2013, Dr. Maibach was awarded the "Master Dermatologist Award" by the American Academy of Dermatology. He is an expert in contact and occupational dermatitis, his specialties being dermatotoxicology, allergies and skin disorders, and dermatopharmacology, on which he has written and lectured extensively. His current research programs include defining the chemical-biologic faces of irritant dermatitis and the study of percutaneous penetration. He has been on the editorial boards of over 30 scientific journals and is a member of 19 professional societies, including the American Academy of Dermatology, the San Francisco Dermatological Society, and the International Commission on Occupational Health. He is currently a professor in the Department of Dermatology at UCSF.

more >

The Future of Dermatology Award

Allergan is a global, technology-driven, multi-specialty health care company pursuing therapeutic advances to help patients live life to their fullest potential. Medical and aesthetic dermatology treatments include dermal fillers, toxins, and psoriasis treatment. Allergan invests in the future of dermatology through its innovative R&D structure, which allows scientists to manage the full life-cycle of development, from early-stage exploration to human clinical testing, for a much broader perspective.

more >

Leader in Scientific Achievement

Celgene is a global biopharmaceutical company whose mission is to deliver truly innovative and life-changing drugs to its patients, focusing on treatments for cancer and other severe immune, inflammatory conditions. Most recently, Celgene received FDA approval for its new oral treatment for psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, Otezla, which provides a beneficial alternative to current injectable treatments. Otezla is an oral small-molecule inhibitor of phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4) specific for cyclic AMP (cAMP). PDE4 inhibition results in increased intracellular cAMP levels which is thought to indirectly modulate the production of inflammatory mediators.

more >
Mary Ann Johnson, MD

Resident of the Year

University of California (Davis) Health System Dermatology Program

Dr. Johnson is a leader within the UC Davis residency program where she is co-chief resident. Well-liked by both patients and staff, she was voted Resident of the Year by their program in 2014. In addition to her academic research on psoriasis, medical education, and oral ulcers, she has worked on several publications including a book chapter on the Treatment of Melanoma, and articles on the use of teledermatology in atopic dermatitis and co-morbidities in psoriasis. She has also presented research on pediatric psoriasis, metabolomics, and psoriasis comorbidities at GRAPPA, and the use of metabolomics in psoriasis at AAD. She has 2 children and is actively involved in volunteering for child care assistance and serving the homeless in her community.

more >
George Han, MD PhD

Resident of the Year

Division of Dermatology, Department of Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center

A multi-talented individual, Dr. Han excels at all areas of dermatology, including research, education, and clinical practice. Having published numerous original research articles in the fields of wound healing and nitric oxide physiology, Dr. Han also writes a regular column for the well-known dermatology journal Cutis and the popular Internal Medicine website He has remained very active in the academic dermatology community, with numerous poster and oral presentations at local and national meetings to his credit. Also, while balancing the strenuous demands of organizing the academic curriculum for a large residency program, he has achieved numerous top awards during his dermatology residency, including the 2014 Women’s Dermatologic Society Academic Research Award, co-winner of the AAD's Everett C. Fox Award at the Residents and Fellows Symposium, and the DermMentors Resident of Distinction Award.

more >
Doris Day, MD

Outstanding Leadership in Promoting the Field of Dermatology

In addition to authoring 2 books and hosting her own Sirius XM radio show Doctor Radio, Dr. Day is a frequent guest on Good Morning America and The View, has had several appearances on television and the internet, and is frequently quoted in mainstream women’s magazines. Clinical Associate Professor of Dermatology at the New York University Langone Medical Center, Dr. Day is also a member of many national and international organizations. These include the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery, the American Academy of Dermatology, Women's Dermatologic Society, the New York State Dermatology Society, and the New York Facial Plastic Surgery Society.

more >

Online Voting

NOV 17 - DEC 4, 2015

Vote for the Leaders of Distinction in Dermatology

Winners Announced

WEEK OF DEC 14, 2015

Award Ceremony

JAN 15 - 18, 2016

Orlando Derm Aesthetic & Clinical Conference
Omni Orlando Resort, Championsgate, FL.