News 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013

Entries for 2015

Meet The Winners! Outstanding Leaders In Dermatology To Be Awarded At The 11th Annual Orlando Dermatology Aesthetic & Clinical Conference (ODAC)

NEW YORK, Jan. 6, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- The Journal of Drugs in Dermatology (JDD) will be honoring brilliant dermatologists and companies from all over the country at the ODAC conference in Orlando, Florida, January 16-19, 2015.

Four doctors have been recognized as being outstanding leaders or promoters in the field of dermatology, or rising stars. Two companies have been awarded for their noteworthy contributions to education, research, and the development of new treatments.

These winners were voted on and chosen by JDD readers and the entire dermatology community.

Howard Maibach, MD will be awarded for Outstanding Leadership in Dermatology Education and Research. Recipient of the "Master Dermatologist Award" in 2013 by the American Academy of Dermatology, Dr. Maibach is an expert in contact and occupational dermatitis. Currently a professor in the Department of Dermatology at University of California (San Francisco), he has been on the editorial boards of over 30 scientific journals.

Doris Day, MD will be awarded for Outstanding Leadership in Promoting the Field of Dermatology. In addition to authoring 2 books and hosting her own Sirius XM radio show Doctor Radio, Dr. Day is a frequent guest on Good Morning America and The View, and is frequently quoted in mainstream women's magazines. She is currently Clinical Associate Professor of Dermatology at the New York University Langone Medical Center.

Rising stars George Han, MD PhD and Mary Ann Johnson, MD will both receive Resident of the Year awards. Dr. Han, resident of Albert Einstein College of Medicine, has authored numerous original research articles on wound healing and nitric oxide physiology, and has also achieved numerous top awards during his residency. Dr. Johnson is co-chief resident at the University of California (Davis). In addition to her academic research on psoriasis, medical education, and oral ulcers, and her work on several publications, she is also actively involved in helping disadvantaged members of her community.

The Future of Dermatology Award goes to Allergan, which is a global, technology-driven, multi-specialty health care company that invests in the future of dermatology through its innovative R&D structure. This allows scientists to manage the full life-cycle of development, from early-stage exploration to human clinical testing, for a much broader perspective.

The Leader in Scientific Achievement Award goes to Celgene, whose mission is to deliver truly innovative and life-changing drugs to its patients, focusing on treatments for cancer and other severe immune, inflammatory conditions. Most recently, Celgene received FDA approval for its new oral treatment for psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, Otezla®.

Full details of the winners can be found here:

About Orlando Dermatology Aesthetic and Clinical Conference (ODAC)
Since 2003, ODAC has presented the leading medical, surgical and cosmetic educational programs delivered by the foremost thought leaders in dermatology. With more than 28 hours of CME/CE credits available, attendees experience first-hand the next generation of cutting-edge procedures, products, and techniques designed to better serve patients, enhance their practice, and collectively define the future of dermatology. ODAC is managed exclusively by SanovaWorks, a New York-based healthcare communications company.

SOURCE Orlando Dermatology Aesthetic and Clinical Conference (ODAC)


Return to News Page